Scientific Team

CompNet Scientific Team

The CompNet Scientific Team includes senior researchers from the IWH and the ECB as well as talented research analysts (including PhD students) from the two institutions. The team promotes research projects on competitiveness and productivity issues using the CompNet dataset; organises workshops and conferences on these issues; and manages the firm-level data collection as well as the implementation of new methodologies and indicators into the CompNet dataset.

IWH Staff

Matthias Mertens is the Coordinator of the Scientific Team and the Head of the IWH-CompNet group.

Senior Researchers

Peter Haug is a Senior Economist in the Department of Structural Change and Productivity at the IWH.

Research Analysts

Tommaso Bighelli is a PhD student at the IWH.

Jonathan Deist is a PhD student at the IWH.

Verena Plümpe is an Economist at the IWH.

Anna Francesca Kern is a Master Student at the MLU.

Clemens Häfner is a Master Student in Economics at Leipzig University.

Ahmed Elhefnawy is a Bachelor Student at the Martin Luther University.

Dieu Hong Le is a Master Student in Economics, Data science and Policy at the MLU.

Ida Dorn is is a PhD Student at the IWH.

External Junior Consultants

Bernardo Mottironi is a PHD student at London School of Economics and Political Science.

Laura Lufray is a Master Student at University of Bocconi, Milan, Italy.

Alessandro Zona Mattioli is a student at Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam and Tinbergen Institute, Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

Laura Lehtonen is a Master Student Graduate from Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

Sara Azzarito is a Master Graduate at University of Bocconi, Milan, Italy.

Ottavia Papagalli is a trainee at the ECB.

Giovanni Brocca is a Master Student.